A glimpse of hope (Part 1)

by alexisbay

I thought I saw her. It was quite a distance so I couldn’t run up to ascertain.

Even if I did, it would have been awkward. After all, I had not seen mommy in the last fourteen years or so. My memory of her face was largely from the photos of my childhood. In every photo, mommy was holding me and we were both smiling or laughing. Some of them were taken with daddy. I had a very happy childhood except that I missed mommy very much since the day she left.

As she turned left into the book store, I was momentarily disorientated. Should I stalk her or should I walk on ahead towards the parking lot?

I decided to walk into the bookstore. Would she recognise me? I’m no longer a boy of five. I could hear my heart thumping in my ears. What was she doing here? What had she been doing all these years? How often have I crossed her mind?

I snapped out of my reverie as I realised that I had lost her. She must be in the bookshop as there was only one door. She would have walked past me if she had left.

I looked up and I saw her again, browsing through some cook books on the second floor. So I decided to hang around the place I was at, the section on “Self Improvement”. It was a matter of time before she came down again.

 

